Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-10-2016, 11:15 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1973 23' Safari
1970 27' Overlander
Boerne , Texas
tail light wiring

I am still learning about wiring. Right now hooking up LED tail and reverse lights. The LED 1157/1156 connectors are shown below. Also is the wiring from the airstream. For the curb side tail light. The brown wire comes from the umbilical cord, one green wire comes from the lower curb side clearance light and the other green wire leaves to go to the license plate light and the street side lower clearance light. I am thinking to cut off the 1157 type connect and crimp these wires - feel a little better about the stability of that. So I have a white wire (ground), a red wire, and a black wire from the light. How should these wires be connected to the AS wires?

For the reverse, the reverse light has a black wire and a white wire. On the AS, a black wire comes from the umbilical cord; another black wire goes over to the street side reverse light. How should these wires be connected?
Thanks so much.
Greg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1157 connectors.JPG
Views:	113
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	266378   Click image for larger version

Name:	tail light wires.JPG
Views:	228
Size:	99.5 KB
ID:	266379  

Greg1410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 10:59 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari
Wayland , New York
I'm having flash backs to that wiring mess. Best to trace the wires to understand how they all connect and keep them all basically the same. I know not to helpful but with all the connections and interconnections back there it's the best way. You have one feed powering tail, and running lights feeding both sides and above window.