Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-03-2020, 12:10 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1993 29' Excella
Crystal Lake , Illinois
Introduction with some questions

Hello, and thanks for this great resource of information on Airstreams. I'm a 55 year old guy about to buy a vintage Airstream, and I am certain I'll have a million questions, but just a few to start.

I've been reading, reading, and more reading, and trying to learn as much as I can about the different models. My plan, most likely, involves purchasing a vintage Airstream in the 27' to 30' size range, and restore it. My background is a lifetime of construction, and I've been a custom furniture and cabinetmaker for 35 years. I have a lot of experience with home renovation work, and have my own workshop including metalworking equipment, so I am not intimidated by the scope of work.

As I read quite a few "full Monty" threads here, from start to finish, I get a good understanding about the monumental effort involved to bring one of these vintage beauties back to life, and look forward to the challenge.

There have not been a lot of vintage Airstreams for sale in my area, near the Illinois/Wisconsin border. I've been looking. I've found several candidates, and it involves a long drive to view them, check them out, and potentially buy one. Not worried about that, either.