Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2018, 02:41 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2015 20' Flying Cloud
Fort Mill , South Carolina
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
In Line Fuse for LP Gas Detector

I have a 2015 Flying Cloud 20 and am trying to locate the in-line fuse for the Atwood LP Gas Detector.

If any one out there can send me a pic or just describe where it would be located would be much appreciated!

Thanks
__________________
Mikel
mikeljla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 05:04 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6,945
Blog Entries: 1
Is there an inline fuse?
I looked up the manual and it recommends a 1 amp fuse to protect the unit, but I took that to mean in the fuse panel.
The new unit comes with bare wires.
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 05:15 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
2015 20' Flying Cloud
Fort Mill , South Carolina
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Yes, there’s an in-line fuse not supplied by Atwood. It’s there because it’s connected directly to the battery and not the fuses.
__________________
Mikel
mikeljla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 05:43 PM   #4
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9,071
On my unit, the inline fuse for the propane detector is located near the battery use/store relay way under the front bed area. It's a real bear to get to.

Should be in the same vicinity on yours...
__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 06:48 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
Malia20's Avatar
 
2017 20' Flying Cloud
Oriental , North Carolina
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 78
Same in my '17 FC20, wire comes off the positive buss to unlined fuse, then disappears into forward wall.
Malia20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 07:18 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
2010 20' Flying Cloud
Clearwater , British Columbia
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 24
In our 20ft FC, the fuse is directly behind the detector plate, about 3" back on the wire.
BCMtnHound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 09:02 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 23' FB International
Melbourne , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 6
Had the same problem with my 2014 23FB. Found our fuse in a panel under the front of bed curbside. Remove mattress and 4 screws to access the area where the in-line fuse is located. Maybe yours is the same. Good luck
ASOPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 06:50 PM   #8
1 Rivet Member
 
2015 20' Flying Cloud
Fort Mill , South Carolina
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Thanks for all the replies however I have still not found the fuse. I looked in all the places recommended but all I found was one in-line fuse on the front side right under the bed by the woofer. I pulled that fuse and and checked it but it was fine. I also emailed AS directly but have not heard back from them.
__________________
Mikel
mikeljla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 06:16 AM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 23' FB International
Melbourne , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 6
Atwood Gas Detector

It sounds like you found the fuse. I have heard that they may "look" ok but in fact are bad. Try replacing the fuse with another 1amp barrel fuse and see if that works. If not, the Atwood detector (which is rated to last for 7 years) are notorious for failing before the 7 years are up. I just went thru all this with mine and replaced it. Working fine now.
ASOPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 07:29 AM   #10
1 Rivet Member
 
2015 20' Flying Cloud
Fort Mill , South Carolina
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASOPA View Post
It sounds like you found the fuse. I have heard that they may "look" ok but in fact are bad. Try replacing the fuse with another 1amp barrel fuse and see if that works. If not, the Atwood detector (which is rated to last for 7 years) are notorious for failing before the 7 years are up. I just went thru all this with mine and replaced it. Working fine now.


Thanks...the fuse that I did find was a 7 amp 250v, all I had were 5 and 30 amps. Will try again.
__________________
Mikel
mikeljla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 03:21 PM   #11
1 Rivet Member
 
2015 20' Flying Cloud
Fort Mill , South Carolina
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Finally...after all the good advice and the process of elimination I found the fuse!

It was under the bed on the left just above a box that houses the inverter. I have attached a couple of pics for those that have the same problem in the future. Thanks for the collective effort!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2020.jpg
Views:	240
Size:	299.1 KB
ID:	308686   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2021.JPG
Views:	202
Size:	506.0 KB
ID:	308687  

__________________
Mikel
mikeljla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 02:17 PM   #12
New Member
 
2013 25' FB International
Footloose & Fancy-free , Seoul
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
@mikeljla - thank you for posting those pics of the 1 amp fuse! 🙏 it saved me hours.

My original Atwood propane detector timed out and chirped every 30 sec. - wouldn’t stop, even after pressing the mute button. Started chirping at 3:30 am, I cut the two wires and went back to bed. This is in a 2013 25FB International Sterling.

Thought it would be easy to buy a new Atwood detector but hard to find locally in stock. Read that Atwood was bought by Dometic but couldn’t find the rebranded Dometic propane detector.

Ended up using a Safe-T-Alert 40 Series Propane Detector. Had to cut a bigger hole for it to fit. I cut it a bit too much and the screws don’t fit so I used Velcro but it’s working and all seems ok.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1958F0DE-917B-4E34-8CE1-276074CEEBCC.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	219.7 KB
ID:	374452  
PinkOrchid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 03:27 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
CruizinDux's Avatar
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Washington , Missouri
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeljla View Post
Finally...after all the good advice and the process of elimination I found the fuse!

It was under the bed on the left just above a box that houses the inverter. I have attached a couple of pics for those that have the same problem in the future. Thanks for the collective effort!

Mike just to confirm it is a 1 amp (in the picture) not a 7 (in your text) correct? The red 1 am is the only that I recognize.


Thx


B


darn, I was at the trailer in storage this am. I have the mattress out so the port opening is right above it. Thanks for the post.


b
CruizinDux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 04:56 PM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' International
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 78
I am currently dealing with same nonsense. Pink Orchid, Would you mind confirming the model number you picked up?

Thanks!
Labeda14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 10:48 PM   #15
New Member
 
2013 25' FB International
Footloose & Fancy-free , Seoul
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
It’s MTI Industries 40-442-P-WT. Attached are the front and back of the packaging.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	E640D130-1107-4050-AED8-21BF2C25F762.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	375.8 KB
ID:	374532   Click image for larger version

Name:	03980F46-D904-4B00-9900-4D863AD75B27.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	350.2 KB
ID:	374533  

PinkOrchid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 11:20 PM   #16
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' International
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by PinkOrchid View Post
It’s MTI Industries 40-442-P-WT. Attached are the front and back of the packaging.
Thanks!
Labeda14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2020, 04:12 PM   #17
BRS
2 Rivet Member
 
Phoenix , AZ
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 21
Location fuse 23fb

This thread helped me and I want to pass on that the inline fuse for the propane leak detector is under the mattress. However you access it by moving or lifting up just the mattress NOT the same as accessing the under bed storage. Then you will see a screwed down hatch near the front corner. The inline fuse is there but hard to see. Trust me it is there. Put in a new one amp fuse

This is for a 2011 23fb flying cloud
BRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2022, 09:42 PM   #18
2 Rivet Member
 
2008 27' Safari FB SE
Sacramento , California
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 22
I'd like to have an abrupt conversation with the person who decided that a failing alarm sensor should incessantly chirp, with absolutely no way of silencing it until replaced (with now-nearly-unobtanium parts, but I digress), and then decided that the fuse that must be pulled (to silence it AND/OR replace it) should be buried under cabinetry and furniture and behind nearly-inaccessible false walls in storage compartments. THIS guy....
shucklemoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 08:51 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
2017 28' International
Jim Falls , Wisconsin
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2,022
Blog Entries: 1
I have a 28'. Mine is located under the couch way to the front by the buss board. I can't begin to get to it. My wife weighs 110lbs and can squeeze underneath and do it though. And by the way, if you replace the alarm, make sure and take the fuse out before you hook things up again. I read on instructions if you don't do that it could harm the detector. I just replaced mine. Haven't got the fuse in though. The guy that designed this needs to try and replace it himself. Why not put the fuse closer to where the detector goes in?
Daquenzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2022, 09:50 AM   #20
New Member
 
2015 27' Flying Cloud
Portland , Oregon
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
We had the same end of life chirping at the start of our trip. Thanks to theses posts and Mike’s picture, we were able to locate the fuse under the bed. I could remove the fuse with one hand, but re-installing after the new detector was in was a two hand job. I could not contort myself to get two hands on the fuse holder, so my wife got one hand on the fuse holder from inside, and I accessed the cap through the storage compartment. Way up under the bed in our 2015 27 foot FB. Thanks for the help!
Parthrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2016 Classic Propane Detector Fuse DocJim 2016 - Current Classic (all lengths) 2 12-17-2017 03:53 PM
2009 International FB LP detector fuse location?? 67shellback Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 11-22-2015 06:35 PM
Fuse for Protector LP Detector Larry71 General Interior Topics 10 04-28-2013 06:51 PM
Need pictures of gas line for Magic Chief oven gas connection dghaas General Repair Forum 1 01-30-2009 10:04 PM
Gas Detector winner Airstream Motorhome Forums 2 07-02-2002 04:59 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.