Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-17-2022, 05:15 PM   #1

Orange , California
Tow vehicle for Flying Cloud 25’

Hello,
I am new to trailering and recently purchased a used 25’ Flying Cloud. I’m looking for a tow vehicle and am wondering if I need to get a 3/4 ton (250/2500) truck, or if a 1/2 ton (150/1500) will suffice. Seems that a 1/2 ton truck could do the job, but concerned that we would be too close to the towing and max cargo weight limits, which of course could impact mileage, wear and tear, etc. Would be open to any advice or observations.
Thanks in advance!
Afry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2022, 05:17 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Evergreen , Colorado
The answer is: it depends. Some 1/2 ton trucks can adequately do the job. Some can’t do the job. It really depends on the truck and the specs for that specific truck. A 3/4 ton truck could do the job without an issue. My choice for a 25 footer would be a 3/4 ton.

Past:
Airstream International Serenity 23FB
Newmar Ventana 3715
Dennis C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2022, 05:23 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2022 28' Pottery Barn
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ , California
As Dennis said, some 1/2 tons will be fine. But as he also said, I also would get a 3/4 ton and not worry about being overweight, bogged down in the mountains and whatnot.
WellSaid11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2022, 05:46 PM   #4
Rivet Master

Tavares , Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afry View Post
Hello,