Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-28-2013, 09:30 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1964 24' Tradewind
2006 39' Land Yacht 396 XL
Lawrence , Kansas
The RV to Campground Interface

I am a complete Newbee when it comes to RV Camping. My 64 Trade Wind is at the Airstream Doctor getting a new air conditioner, axels, furnace, tires and hot water tank. I am working on refinishing cabinet doors, and thinking about camp ground hook ups and TV hookups so I can hit the ground running.

My AS has a pig tail coming out the back with a heavy duty cord (appears to be 30 amp) with a standard 15 amp grounded male plug (appears to be a replacement) on the end. I have run 120 using a 15 amp household circuit to the trailer via the pig tail and have gotten 120 inside the RV. The 30 amp circuit breaker, lights and interior outlets are all in working order.

My concerns are about being prepared for the various conditions I will find when I pull into a campsite with an electric hookup. Should I put a 30 amp plug on the pig tail? Are there adapters that I should make or buy to fit different electrical situations I will run into? What are the electrical situations I might encounter at various sites? How long of an extension cord should I buy? Should I have an extension cord capable of carrying the 30 amp load and an additional one for 15 amp 120? In short, I have no idea what I need except for the help of experienced RV-ers.

Thanks in advance.
ttbikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:44 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Airstream - Other
2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Bosque Farms , New Mexico