Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-29-2016, 07:15 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1969 29' Ambassador
Fulltiming , via Jersey Shore and Philadelphia, PA
DC short?

Hello,

I'm having trouble getting my battery bank to energize the DC circuits. There is a 'workaround' toggle switch that bypasses a short somewhere in the rear of the coach that affects the rear marker/clearance lights, closing the switch controls the rear clearance lights for when we're in transit, it's open to bypass the short when not. I replaced this switch previously, the short was manifesting when you stepped on the rear bathroom floor, as it has gone bad. Replacing the switch did not alleviate the problem this time.

I can still energize the DC circuits from the tow vehicle and through shore power. Fuses appear to all be good. I'm not an electrician by any stretch of the imagination, but I have a multimeter and can follow direction. Is there somewhere I should start sticking my meter first? Any silly things I may be overlooking? Coach is a 1969 Ambassador. Thanks for any help!
hoagies_OTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 12:01 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
I'm In , Kentucky
[QUOTE=hoagies_OTR;1870407]Hello,

There is a 'workaround' toggle switch that bypasses a short somewhere in the rear of the coach that affects the rear marker/clearance lights, closing the switch controls the rear clearance lights for when we're in transit, it's open to bypass the short when not. /QUOTE]

So if the switch is closed and someone steps on the bathroom floor it shorts out and blows a fuse? If the switch wires go to the rear marker lights, it shouldn't be powered unless the TV is hooked up. Correct?