Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Overlander > 1965 - 1969 Overlander
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-20-2016, 07:40 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1969 27' Overlander
Sebring , Florida
Just brought home 1969 Overlander

Yesterday my wife and I brought home our restoration project, a 1969 Overlander. Blew two tires on the way home but had some 6 hole wheels from Tractor Supply that we put on and got it home.

Trailer light wiring doesn't work, we locked the door and now can't get back open as the door lock seems to be shot. Ah, the adventures.

It has been a dream of my wife to have an Airstream, and now we get to restore it. I'm a high school woodshop teacher about to retire, so I have access to many things that will be helpful.

Any advice and suggestions are welcome. I'm impressed with the depth of information available on the forum.

We have a 3/4 ton suburban to tow it, so that will not be an issue. Just need to get it road worthy again.
John Rousch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:45 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1968 24' Tradewind
Oxford, , Mississippi
Welcome to the forum and welcome to the adventure of working on an older Airstream.
A couple of tips: 1) everything will take 3-4x the time you think it will 2) you will spend 2-3x the money you think you will. That was my experience and I have spoken with a lot of folks who have redone Airstreams and all agreed i was close on my estimates. A lot depends on the condition of your trailer to start with and how far you want to take it. Mine was a real mess, yours might be in fine shape and just needs a few things updated.