Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-26-2020, 08:38 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1969 31' Sovereign
Northwest , Iowa
Custom Frame - 1969 Sovereign 31'

Hello all - first ever post here.

I've been wanting to renovate an old Airstream for a while now, and ended up finding one nearby last fall, a 1969 31' Sovereign. The shell is in great shape, everything else....not so much. But that's okay, because my plan all along is that I want to build a whole new Airstream from the ground up, especially when it comes to the frame.

I am a mechanical engineer by education, but I now manage a metal fabrication company and am a certified welder (and working towards certified welding inspector later this year). My Airstream, like most of the era and size, has pretty severe back end rotting of the floor, and almost assuredly, the frame as well. My company specializes in heavy, structural steel fabrication, and we galvanize over a million pounds of steel every year. Therefore, I am looking forward to (hopefully) custom building a new, beefy frame and getting it galvanized, as I have yet to find anyone out there that has successfully accomplished this. Galvanizing is the best protection for this type of application, and I am looking forward to sharing my experience doing this so that hopefully others can learn more about the process and gain some ideas for their project(s).