Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-23-2017, 01:10 PM   #1

1989 29' Excella
Burbank , California
Bathroom floor repair in a 29 foot, '89 Excella

Hello all,

This is my first time on the Forum and I need some advice about a floor repair in our bathroom. Like I said, we're in a 29 ft, 89 Excella and I recently pulled out our toilet to track down a leak and I discovered the wood flooring under our toilet was in pretty bad shape. I'm quite a skilled carpenter and I understand the basics of how to go about repairing the floor, but what I'm concerned about is supporting the new piece of wood I need to install. Can anyone provide me with a blueprint for the support strut layout or direct me to where I can find one? I'm also open to suggestions if someone has found another solution.

Thanks,
Ben
Benwa2377 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 02:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Welcome to the Forums.

The frame is pretty simple. You have the two main frame rails that run the length of the trailer. You can tell where they are because they protrude from the rear of the trailer and attach to the bumper. You will have a cross member running between the two frame rails that is directly under the rear wall of the trailer. Moving forward, you will have a cross member usually every two feet. You will be able to see where they are as you look at the subfloor because there will be a row of screws that attach the plywood to the cross members.