Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-30-2003, 03:41 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

petite airstreamer

Hi all you smart airstreamers! Want to give me a little advice? I'm searching for my first airstream with an eye towards living in it full time. I don't have much, don't need much, so I'm looking for something in the smaller range, 19' to 23'. Because I'll be doing this on my own - and I've never done it before - I want to buy something that I can manage. I don't have the bucks for a brand new Bambi but have been looking at post 1973 Safari's, Globetrotters, etc., up to 1995 Sovereigns.

I guess my question is, what can I do to make towing less intimidating? For instance, double axles have been recommended. Anything else I should be looking at? Anything I should avoid?

Are there any women out there who have done this on their own, whether for a weekend or a year? I must admit to be a tad bit nervous about towing (wind gusts and S curves come to mind) but figure with practice I'll get over it.

Thanks in advance for any advice - towing and more! - you can give.
Annette
nettepdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 03:59 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 28' International CCD
Pagosa Springs , Colorado
IMHO

There's many out there that have been doing this longer than me but IMHO my focus would be:

The smallest trailer you can get with tandem axles.
A good sway control and equalizer hitch
A reliable, properly sized tow vehicle
A cell phone and CB
A good roadside service contract (AAA, THOR, etc)
A list of good campgrounds/parks with references.
A good tire gauge, a full tank and off you go.
Tin Hut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 04:06 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Massachusetts