Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-30-2019, 09:11 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2017 19' Flying Cloud
2019 23' Flying Cloud
2021 25' Flying Cloud
Evans , Georgia
BO SwayPro Tuning and Ride Hgt

Hi, I'm new to the Airstream life. Could use some advise on my towing setup. There are two issues: "porpoising" and dragging sway bars on pavement. Here are the details. TV is a 2015 Ford F150 FX super crew 5.5' 3.5L, BO Sway Pro with 750# spring bars, and 9 hole drop receiver (using holes 6 and 8). RV is 2017 19' Airstream FC. I closely followed the BO instructions. The AS trailer measures 18-1/2" level at coupler height. The F150 measures 19-1/2" to top of hitch ball. The sway bar chains are set at the 9th chain length. I followed advise on this forum, and mfg instructions, about setting sway bar chains on/off with trailer jack extended. It's very difficult to get that 9th link engaged. Connected vehicles are level. The drop receiver and sway bars are typically 6-3/4" clearance from pavement.
Assuming I have the correct setup, I think that further tuning and possibly adding Bilstein 4600 shocks could resolve the porpoising. Not sure I can do anything to improve ground clearance on dragging sway bars. Any advise would be much appreciated.
kmhale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 05:50 PM   #2
PKI
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Walnut Creek , California
Porposing is a factor of the BOSP flexible connection between the TV and the coach. It's not a bad thing. Stiffer dampening on the tow vehicle helps. The common suggestion is to increase the spring bar preload or gvo to a higher rate bar, but there is a limit to the value of that solution.