Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Sovereign > 1970 - 1973 Sovereign
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-14-2009, 01:37 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1972 31' Sovereign
Marietta , Ohio
Question Help a newbie out....trying to winterize

Hello, I am new to the winterizing process......I am looking for the fresh water shut off valve for my 72 Airstream...no luck. I don't have a book and I need help! Can I add antifreeze to the fresh water tank and pump it through until it comes out the faucets and hot water heater drain. There are 3 valves closed by the pump before the inlet but I can find no direct shut off from the fresh water. I have no idea what those 3 valves are for. I looked for info on the forums but most of the info was for newer models. Please help!!!!!!
Bethy Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 02:57 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
If you are looking for a "fresh water shut off valve" for the water inlet from city water, I don't believe there is one.

You should have three drain valves, one on the hot water, one on the cold water, and one on the fresh water tank. You may also have three valves for a water heater bypass. The water heater bypass allows you to bypass the water heater when winterizing thereby saving antifreeze.

After all of the systems are drained with the faucets open, you should be able to close the drain valves, put the antifreeze in the fresh water tank, and then use the pump to circulate the antifreeze thruout the water system.

Since it never gets that cold where I am, I've actually never done the typical "winterizing". I just use air pressure to blow all the water lines, and then pour some antifreeze down the drains to prevent the "P" traps from freezing.