Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Tradewind > 1959-69 Tradewind
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-20-2021, 07:35 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1965 24' Tradewind
Mount Holly , NC
Jimber's 1965 Tradewind

Picked up a 1965 Tradewind from my neighbor down the street. Just got it back from the local RV dealer and what started as a $225 pre-maintaince check turned into a $1000 invoice. Wasn't thrilled but hey, lesson learned.

I am a noob to the RV lifestyle but the airstreams have always fascinated me. I am looking forward to learning everything I can about the trailer and consider myself somewhat capable of doing the work. So let's begin.

It started with a porch light...

The trailer has a "scare light " on the outside of it that wasn't working. So I removed the light housing to check the wiring, and down the hole I went. The light has a switch inside and when I opened up the cover plate I noticed the switch housing was completely rusted out. Which then lead me to trace the wire to the sconce lamp it was being fed from. I removed the lamp and notice soot behind the fixture. The cladding of the wire had melted exposing the solid aluminum wiring. Traced that to the light fixture centered above and once again, more melted wire. This is also where airstream (or someone) had created a junction feeding the 2 wall lights and a vent fan (that had been removed and wire left coiled inside the skins). There is also another wire hanging inside the cabinet above the banquette, no idea what that's for.