Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Special Editions and Limited Releases > Eddie Bauer - All Models
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-12-2012, 01:06 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Dunwoody , Georgia
Make your own Eddie Bauer rear door AS?

Hello all-

I am a newbie on forum but been lurking awhile. Starting to look for my first Airstream to use for our family of four. I am pretty handy with tools, and also an aircraft mechanic in my free time so know how to buck rivets, etc.

I really like the styling (and cost) of the vintage Airstreams and have been looking at trailers in the 25-29 ft range. This way I also have the ability to do what we want with the restoration/upholstery, colors, etc. The problem we have is that we also sail small boats and I want to be able to do both when we are on trips. Obviously it is impractical to devise a roof rack to load a 150 pound sailboat on top, and when I measured out the other plan I had (fabricate a long ten foot frame extension on front ) you would end up having to move axles and end up with a real frankenstein creation.

I was on Ebay last night and saw the one I think would solve my problem- its a 2012 Eddie Bauer "camper edition". with huge lift gate on the back. Measuring the door opening it would be no problem to fit the boat inside and work well for our application, but these cost $75,000.