Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Flying Cloud > 2009-2015 Flying Cloud
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-14-2016, 06:34 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Cincinnati , Ohio
Newbie here, need buying advice

Hello all,

I am struggling with which model and size to purchase. I like the dark decor of the International and the light decor of the Sport. Not too fond of the decore of the Flying Cloud. I want to pull with my current truck, a Toyota Tacoma Double Cab with factory installed tow package putting it at a max 6400 tow rating. I pulled another SOB for a month out west, which had a 2300 dry weight, and I know that the mountain passes are a bear. I just get in the slowest lane and chug along, I plan to do the same with an AS. I am also looking at ways to boost the Taco's power. The AS sales person stated I wouldn't have any problem with the 23' Flying Cloud, which is the exact same weight as the International. BUt the 22' Sport is 1127 pounds lighter than either. Or I could go with the 19' International which weighs nearly the same as the 22' Sport. I have been told by other AS owners that the sport and the the flying cloud are less well made than the International. I would love to have others weight in as I am finding my head spinning.
Blazesmom21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2016, 07:08 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2014 25' Flying Cloud
Comox , British Columbia
I have a similar truck. Mid size Nissan truck V6 6500lb tow capacity. I pulled a smaller 3000lb trailer with it without problem.