Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-30-2003, 11:27 AM   #1
Jan
1 Rivet Member

1959 CA Classic

Someone near me is selling what he calls a 59 CA Classic, 18'. It's part of an estate sale and he says it's in good condition. He's asking $6500 for it, and I'm a newbie. Even in good condition, isn't this a real project...something for a collector? We're just considering a nice little travel trailer.....I've been reading these wonderful posts for a couple of weeks, and am learning a lot. Would love to hear the kind of work one would expect on a trailer of this age. Also, since we're not handy, wondering something about costs.
Thanks for any input...
PS. This is my first post, so I'm kind of clueless, and hope I'm doing things right.
Jan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2003, 12:28 PM   #2
Vintage Alum. Enthusiast

1959 24' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Hi Jan. Welcome to the forum. Yes, you are doing it just right.

A '59 is a wonderful trailer from a great era in construction and materials. Very little plastic, veneers, vinyl, etc. We've had ours for almost 2 years and have had to do extensive work on it. It really helps if you have a basic understanding of the systems in a trailer of this age. They are pretty straightforward. If this 'Classic' that you speak of is in as good of shape as you were told, it will not need as much work as ours when we brought it home. Areas of concern right up front are soft spots in the floor from water leaks and the condition of the running gear, i.e.: axle, brakes, hubs, rims and hitch.

You didn't mention in what part of the country you're located. If you're not interested in taking on a vintage project, others I sure would be interested in a complete '59 18 footer.