Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-03-2006, 06:23 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1987 34' Excella
Mobile , Alabama
Need Help With Hitch

Okay folks, here's the story. A few years back, I bought a 1987 34' Excella 1000 from my wife's uncle. He was the origanal owner and lived in it full time while he had a new house built. After that, it sat under a shed for 14 years until I picked it up for $6000 dollars.
I am a contract refinery equipment inspector (hence my name). I have only used the unit once since I've had it. That was for a 6 month job in New Orleans. I didn't have a tow vechicle at the time , so I paid a friend to tow it to N.O. form Mobile while I followed in my car. Several times, the unit started to fishtail. How he recovered is still a mystery. After the job was over, he pulled it back for me. It's been sitting in my driveway since.
Next year I will be working 2 long term jobs in the Beaumont, TX area. I need to use the unit to avoid motels. I am scared to death to attempt to tow the unit.
Next week I will be buying a new Dodge 2500. What kind of hitch should I ask for as an option? I have heard all about the Hensley hitch, but there's no way I can see paying $3500 dollars for something I will only use twice a year.
Is there anyone out there who can give me any advice on what kind of hitch I need to to use to pull this monster with?
This will be my first time towing anything of this size.
InspectorDread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 06:35 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2016 25' Flying Cloud
Sunnyvale , California
Send a message via AIM to Condoluminum
Search the threads here and talk to a couple good hitch shops...

By searching for words like "hitch" "recommend" and "34" all together, or maybe adding hensley or equal-i-zer or other hitch brands, you'll see hundreds of messages already written on the subject...