Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2017, 01:56 PM   #61
3 Rivet Member

2016 30' International
Calgary , Alberta
We bought our Serenity 30 in the spring, and towed with a RAM 1500 with the Hemi. It was great except on hills. We traded it in on a 2017 Ford F350 lariat diesel with the 8 foot bed, truck cap with Thule rack, and Bedrug. I'm too lazy to do all these weight calculations (although I wasn't when I was a pilot!) so I hitch up the AS and we can go where we want. No worrying about hills- up or down.

Fuel efficiency? Well, we don't care.
Poodle and two cats!
Masondood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 06:07 AM   #62
Rivet Master

2018 27' International
Southeastern MI , Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowmover View Post
So that's why you bought a leaf-sprung Jayco!
If the #2 selling truck was $30k less I would probably tow with one. But it's not so why buy #2?
Countryboy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 08:37 AM   #63
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by thurmanlinda View Post
We went back into the AS dealer because we changed our minds on the unit size and configuration. They were cool about everything and we made a better deal on a 25FB, so now I’m back to drawing board. So now I need to up the towing demands to handle 7300#, 837# hitch weight. Getting some pretty sweet quotes from CostcoAuto program. Thanks for all the info and entertaining humor. “a healthy sense of humor can dull the pain"
Hi

I think the 25' has a lot going for it. Tow wise it's not all that different than a 23'. The length difference isn't enough to rule you out of very many places (both are well over 20' and below 28').

TV wise you still can do the job with the same range of vehicles. All of the comments apply. You rule out a few specific models, but it's still the same range.