Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Winterizing, Storage, Carports & Covers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-01-2016, 01:32 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2010 23' Flying Cloud
Traverse City , Michigan
Question Winterizing Problem

I have a problem that is stumping me. Hoping that someone can bail me out. This year I have a new (used) 23ft Flying Cloud - 2010. I have been doing this winterizing process with my RVs for over 40 years without any problem, including an old AS. Winterizing the AS this year, I disconnected the intake on the water pump and attached my tube to take in the anti-freeze. The problem is the anti-freeze would go back into the water tank. The by-passed valves are set correctly for winterizing. Is there something that I am missing? My only thought is maybe a check valve is failing somewhere in the system? But then again the system holds pressure when using the water pump. My dealer which is 1,200 miles away told me to put the anti-freeze in the tank and feed it from there? Not too crazy about that idea. The winter storage for our unit is in Coastal Alabama so I still have time to get on top of this! Perplexed and/or confused...
Larry49684 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 01:35 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2020 28' Flying Cloud
Upper St Clair , Pennsylvania
I install a by pass or siphoning kit on the Airstreams we have owned. Turn a valve that comes with the kit and put a clear hose that also comes with the kit in the bottle of anti freeze and turn the pump on and open facets etc. No problem. Not sure why your anti freeze would go into the tank, did you blow out the system first?
Volunteer K9 Rehabilitator & Trainer
paiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 01:55 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20