Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-24-2008, 04:39 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2007 28' Safari SE
Denver , North Carolina
What to use as leveling blocks

Hello:

I am new to the RV world and I have a 2007 Safari 27 Ft. SE what do use for leveling at a park or site. Do I need wooden blocks to lower the levelers onto ?

Thanks
Tom
flint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 04:47 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 24' Tradewind
Placerville , California
What you need to level first are the axles. You can buy the 'lego' type 12" X 12" blocks that work pretty good. I have those but I also carry 6- 2X8X16 or so. If need be you can place blocks under your levelers to STABILIZE your coach. DO NOT attempt to raise the coach with the levelers. Once the axles, or the beam of the coach is level the you can level it front to back with the tongue jack.
Enjoy your Airstream.
Neil
FreshAir #12407

Kirk Creek, Big Sur, Ca. coast.

1966 Trade Wind

1971 Buick Centurion convertible
455 cid

1969 Oldsmobile Ninety Eight
455 cid
FreshAir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 04:52 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 27' Overlander
1954 26' Romany Cruiser
1960 26' Overlander
Rockingham County , New Hampshire
Send a message via AIM to balrgn Send a message via Yahoo to balrgn
Quote:
Originally Posted by flint
Hello:

I am new to the RV world and I have a 2007 Safari 27 Ft. SE what do use for leveling at a park or site. Do I need wooden blocks to lower the levelers onto ?

Thanks
Tom
I use 6" x 6" plywood for the levelers, a good solid 6" x 6" under the frong jack.

Also under the wheels:
We one or the other, depending where we are, I have found the Lego type sink in an Grassy (boondocking) areas. 3' and 4' long 2 x 8 work well but do not store all that well.