Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-20-2005, 06:15 PM   #1

screen door on '75

How can you remove the screen door without removing hindges. I thought you could just drive the pins out but there is no hole on the bottom. Please give some input I would like to take the screen door to have the screen replaced..
I am new to Airstream this is my first post but I would be willing to help anyone anyway I can as I learn more about the airstream.

Thanks,
Wayne
Wayne Gilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 08:00 PM   #2
Old Paint, rolling again.

1973 Argosy 20
Lorain County , Ohio
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne Gilley
How can you remove the screen door without removing hindges.
Hi Wayne, Welcome to the forums

Sorry nobody more experienced seems to have noticed your post !?

After looking at my door it seems that the way to get it off would be to drill out the rivets. But since you are simply fixing the screen I'm sure that can be done in place. I need to fix my door screen and I was thinking of clamping the screen door tight to the main door before working in the bead for attaching the screen.

Good luck,

Steve
Have you never questioned those who travel? Have you paid no regard to their accounts- Job 21:29
sfixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 08:45 PM   #3
Remember, Safety Third

1973 27' Overlander
Catfish Corners , Georgia
Wayne, I'll have to look again tomorrow in the daylight and without the pouring rain, but my screen (I'm almost sure) can be replaced without removing the door. My door, I think, uses the same screen materials that current day window screens in my house uses.

Basically, a metal frame, screen and rubber "piping" that hold the screen to the frame. I'll try to check tomorrow and get back.

Jim

www.nesa.org
Air No. 6427
Jim & Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 08:57 PM   #4
Rivet Master