Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-24-2007, 06:02 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2007 25' Safari FB SE
Truckee , California
Pet Peeves / Solutions

Alright, so i just bought my first Airstream,2007 25' FB,SE. The purpose of this thread is to discuss problems and solutions regarding design/functionality of airstream trailers. I am a retired Architect who has camped alot so design and functionality are my forte. Its the nuances that hopefully we come up with that will improve our camping experience!!!
flyfishfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 06:16 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

2007 25' Safari FB SE
Truckee , California
So here is first pet peeve. Fortunately it is not my problem as i found a brand new 2007 airstream and not a 2008, but for you folks that may be ordering a new one, here's the problem. Vinyl flooring !. The new 2008's all have a vinyl flooring different from the 2007's. It's an embossed (raised) design that has narrow strips in two directions, lke quilt /patchwork fashion. Good luck as this is going to be a constant cleaning nightmare, collecting heaps of dirt vrs a smoother non embossed one directional vinyl floor. Whoever came up with this particular flooring from airstream should be fired, as it is a major mistake !!! If you are ordering a new airstream see if you can get the prior years vinyl flooring (they may have some left), or perhaps they will change design midyear as they sometimes do. Good Luck, Fred
Old 12-24-2007, 06:54 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1972 25' Tradewind
North Vancouver , British Columbia