Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-09-2014, 08:07 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1995 25' Excella
Vintage Kin Owner
Vintage Kin Owner
Myrtle Creek , Oregon
14x25 roof vent

Howdy to all. I am brand new to the Airstream world. My dad has been in a mid 60's Airstream for many years now. We travel around in our 2008 casita and have been looking for a little more room and personality, I also am refinishing a 1971 26' Streamline. BUT, as of this week my wife and I have joined the Airstream world. We spent $4,500 on a 1965 Airstream safari 22' and I am hoping to redo the inside to our liking as I think that I can put a queen walk around bed in the front (after I change the water tank a bit). The rest of the trailer is in pretty good shape and has no water damage but I think I am going to replace everything I can on the inside with hickory for a little lighter color and put in a nice hardwood floor, real wood not laminate. My first and most important thing right now is to find a 14x25 vent for this safari as this is about the only thing missing and I am really glad that the previous owners kept it tarped up so I don't have water damage to deal with. If any of you out there can point me in the right direction I would be grateful, I would like to get the 14x25 replaced with a matching vent and I should probably replace the other two smaller ones as they are pretty tough to open. I am also going to need to redo the window seals as they look like they could give at any time and I really want to keep this baby as water tight as I can. Thanks for any advice and help you may have to offer.
Howdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 08:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1964 19' Globetrotter