Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Brakes & Brake Controllers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-18-2012, 04:31 PM   #1
Hillbilly Hagrid

1973 29' Ambassador
Stanford , Kentucky
Brake troubles and Controllers...

Last Fall I lost my Trailer Brakes on Blue Ridge Parkway and haven't really gotten them to work proper since....I have a 1973 29ft Ambassador..
The brakes will work sometimes...then they will stop working...I replaced the wheel bearings last year and adjusted the brakes at that time...everything looked good..
My question is...what new brake controller will work with my AS? I hear the term hydraulic over electric etc and wonder what controller to buy? I have a older really simple drawtite in it now that I suspect may be the problem.. my TV is a 2001 F350 Diesel Dually
Also if I end up replacing the brakes and buy new backing plates how do I know to purchase 10 or 12 inch? do I measure inside diameter of drum?
Thanks for any info...
Old 08-18-2012, 05:44 PM   #2
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
Your brakes should be 12x2, but it would not hurt to measure them.
Since you have electric brakes, all of the common brands will work. The Tekonsha is probably the most popular brand and the P3 is the latest model. I have the previous model which is the Prodigy which has worked great for me for the past 7 years and over 40K miles.

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 05:51 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota