Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2016, 03:26 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1965 24' Tradewind
almena , Wisconsin
110 AC/12 DC Refrigerator

1965 Tradewind refrigerator not working. Do not want or need propane! Has anyone installed the "Ice Box 110/12 Volt Conversion Kit" sold by Vintage Trailer Supply in this application? Or any other suggestions?!!! Thank you!
mykytiukr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 06:44 PM   #2
1 Rivet Member

Oriental , North Carolina
110/12v

No. I have no knowledge of the kit you asked about. However we recently installed a 110/12V fridge. Our 17 year old Dometic died. Instead of a replacement ac/propane, we opted for this choice. Turns out the hardest thing was getting the old one out. There are several manufacturers, sizes etc.
Ours is an Isotherm model used in boats. It takes up a little less overall space but actually has more room inside than the old one. We are very happy with the switch. Good luck with your project.
BrunoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 06:59 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by mykytiukr View Post
1965 Tradewind refrigerator not working. Do not want or need propane! Has anyone installed the "Ice Box 110/12 Volt Conversion Kit" sold by Vintage Trailer Supply in this application? Or any other suggestions?!!! Thank you!
Would look at either Isotherm or Vitrifrigo for a conversion kit. Both sell marine grade units that run on 12VDC and are excellent! Not sure what VTS sells.

Another thought to consider is the condition of the door seals on your existing RV fridge. These are usually 'challenged' right from the factory and generally can not be counted on when trying to upgrade to a marine cooling unit.