Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-01-2013, 07:32 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1974 27' Overlander
Chatsworth , California
Full Restoration Dent Removal

Hello Everyone,

3 weeks ago, I purchased a 1974 Airstream. A restoration had been attempted by two owners back. They removed the entire interior and replaced the water tanks. They gave up and the owner that I bought it from had it for a couple years. That was about 5 years ago. He basically put up some insulation, some 1x2 framing that was not done to well, and some jiffy boxes for 110. I was basically left with a shell, but as a contractor I figured that I could do everything myself. Plumbing, Electrical, Flooring, Polishing, and Cabinet work.

I have been reading up on everything I need to know, and have been sourcing parts from all over the country. I was able to source nearly all the emblems and missing trim. I also order a new air conditioner, 10 gallon water heater, furnace, a tub pan, and toilet. In the meantime, I have ripped the interior insulation out and 1x2 framing and stripped many of the exterior items before I started polishing.

I am in the greater Los Angeles area and have already been to Inland RV to see Andy and C & G Trailer Service to see Rod. I have also ordered some items from air stream supply as well. I have also heard good things from Colaw Salvage. Anyways I am still sourcing parts, so if any of you know places to locate airstream specific parts, that would be greatly helpful.