Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-18-2011, 05:02 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1965 24' Tradewind
Starkville , Mississippi
How to build a dinette

This is my first attempt at building a dinette and I can certainly use all the help I can get. I have studied a number of threads on building dinettes and it seems that almost anything goes - from building a basic framework then facing it whatever it is faced with to building the framework out of the birch (or whatever) that is the facing itself.

I have a number of considerations:
1. It is a small trailer (18' tongue to end)
2. It is meant for just two adults and maybe a grandkid
3. There is a fresh water tank, the water pump and the converter in the front of the trailer - all of which needs to be hidden.
4. The fuse boxes are near the water tank.
5. The streetside bench will go from the end of the galley cabinet to the front wall.
6. The curbside bench can only go from the door opening to the front wall.
7. I would like to have storage under the benches and/or behind the backs of the benches.
8. I would like the table to drop down so that it makes into a twin sized bed.
9. It is not necessary to seat anybody over the water tank.
10. I don't know how to attach the table to the wall.
11. What is best - pedestal leg for the table or fold-up leg?

I've posted pictures of the space available and a drawing of the space with measurements. Any help, advice, support, guidance or offer of free labor would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance -
Lindy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dinette4.jpg
Views:	456
Size:	167.7 KB
ID:	119616   Click image for larger version

Name:	dinette5.jpg
Views:	495
Size:	157.9 KB
ID:	119617  

Name:	dinette6.jpg
Views:	471
Size:	168.3 KB
ID:	119618  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf galley space measurements.pdf (108.8 KB, 417 views)
lucymcdog is offline   Reply With Quote