Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-22-2012, 06:34 PM   #1
Calamity Jane

2019 28' Flying Cloud
Marquette , Michigan
Question Fan Won’t Quit Running? Help!

I’m a newbie. Just pulled in (Marquette, MI) after 4 days of great camping at Quietwoods in Door County, WI and I met a lot of nice Airstreamer owners at a Rally.
So, I shut off the frig and cleaned it out----AND the little fan that is accessible from the outside frig vent WON”T shut off. Yes, I pulled the shore power---it kept running.

Yes, I then stopped the battery power and YES it shut off.

So, my powerless Airstream is sitting in the driveway.

What next? Hmmmmmm...I thought that I would give it a night to think it over.

But is this possibly a SENSOR? Is it time to make a call, schedule an appointment and then haul it 16 miles one way it to a non-Airstream camper/trailer dealer?

It’s a brand new 2012 25’ Flying Cloud. Purchased 5/12 and overnight camping 12-14 nights total.

My Airstream dealer is 5 hours away---

Thanks, folks. You may have already seen this kind of problem and can help me.

Jane
CalamityJane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 06:43 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
That fan is running on the batteries. It has a clickon switch that turns it on when the frig condenser reaches a set temperature, a high temperature. I would guess that switch is stuck on.

Any RV dealer should be able to fix it but I would call Jackson Center first and get them to agree to pay the bill before going to a none Airstream dealer

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 07:05 PM   #3
Calamity Jane

2019 28' Flying Cloud
Marquette , Michigan