Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-27-2011, 10:31 AM   #1
FT RVing

1976 31' Sovereign
Always searching for a place w/low Humidity , FT RVing, N & S, E & W, & in between
Question Advice wanted .. Motorhome, yes/no??

I suspect that many of you have considered buying a used Motorhome and that's what I have been doing for the past 6 months. The prices are VERY attractive right now. But, so far, I haven't been able to convince myself to take the plunge. I am now a FT RVer for 4 years, single and I have mostly enjoyed living and traveling in my 76 31ft Sovereign. I usually spend the summers somewhere up north or out west and the winters somewhere down south. I usually stay in one spot for 4-6 months and then move on. I envision that the advantages that a Motorhome, with a slide, would give me is a lot more living space, more comfort when on the road and easier set-up at my destination and easier to get ready when its time to move on. The main thing that STOPS me is the expense! Not just the initial purchase....but the day to day operating expenses, insurance, tires, and routine maintenance, etc.

I suspect that many of you have been through the same thought process and I would very much like to hear what you have concluded and why. Bill
Old 03-27-2011, 01:16 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida