Old 06-15-2015, 10:26 AM   #1

1971 23' Safari
Washington , North Carolina
New guy with a few questions

Hi everyone.....very new to the Airstream club and I need to ask an important question about my TV. I currently own a 2012 Ford Flex with the towing package. It's max towing weight is 4500 lbs and I think that is only with a weight-distribution hitch. The dry weight of the 1971 23ft. Safari Airstream we are going to purchase is 3,700 lbs. If we start adding the 1,000 lbs that most say you need to allow for, we will be over. I don't want to trade in the Flex, but I think I have to. How close is close for this engine/transmission and if I were to pack extra-light and get a hitch for the Flex, what is the best/easist to work with since I am very new to all this. I very much appreciate your responses (I need all the help I can get:-) Thanks!!!

Old 06-15-2015, 10:34 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Welcome to the Forums!

I have stumbled across a few threads in the recent past regarding using a Flex as a TV. You can see the discussions and send a private message if so desired to your fellow Flex owners to ask them specific questions about their experiences. The built in search function in the Forums is notoriously marginal, so to do a Google search, open a new window, put in search terms with Air Forums included, and you should see results that are Forums threads.

Here is a rather lengthy one:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f463...eam-76419.html

good luck!

Old 06-15-2015, 10:34 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1973 27' Overlander
Portsmouth , Virginia
Some people my tell you otherwise, but I'll say that you would be on the border of too much weight for the vehicle. Even with the proper hitch and towing equipment, you would be right at or above that 4500 lb weight limit.

Rather than the airstream I would look for an ultralight rig that comes in around 3k lbs dry so you have some margin of error.

Ongoing adventures at: