Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Excella > 1987 - 1989 Excella
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-28-2005, 04:24 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1989 32' Excella
Seabrook , Texas
Red face Half Ton Truck w/ 32' ('89) Excella?

OK, I am very new to this stuff so I hope this isn't considered a "dumb" question. I am thinking about buying a 1989 32' Airstream Excella with a Tow Rite hitch from an individual and am wandering if I will need another tow vihicle other than what I have now. I currently have a 2002 chev half ton with a large v8 or the largest offered for half tons. Will this truck be suficient?

Thanks for any responses,

Don
Boaz1362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 04:41 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois
It depends on the rear end gear ratio and how you intend to use the airstream. If it is a 4.1 there should be no problem. What is the displacement of the engine. if 8.1 liter no problem anywhere in the country. Smaller cubic inches will cause you to slow down in the mountains. Especially the tall ones above 10,000 feet as there is little air and so you can not develop the power unless you have a supercharger. You will like going slow in the mountains so you have time to enjoy the scenery anyway. Get out you catalog for your particular truck and look for the tow rating on it. Then figure out what the Airstream with all your junk aboard will weigh. If that exceeds 80% of you trucks rating you will have some problems under some weather and road conditions.
dwightdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 04:50 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1967 26' Overlander
Huntsville , Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boaz1362
...Will this truck be suficient?