Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-24-2007, 07:06 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

houston , Texas
Need a little help with my water system please!!!

Hi,

I own a 1975 Silver Streak travel trailer. Now I know this is an Airstream website, but, there isn't any kind of forums I can get to for SS's and they must be pretty much related , right?

Anyway, Im a total novice to RV'ing and don't have a manual for my Trailer. I can work the water heater and clear the Grey and Black tanks, but thats about it. Can anyone answer a few questions or give me some advice??

First... When someone says 'freshwater tank' does this mean your holding tank for using water when your not connected. If so, is the big octaganel screw off thing that says 'potable water only' the place to fill my 'freshwater holding tank?? It has a little tap coming off it (for pressure??) I deemed it was for drinking water as next to my sink is a little faucet that looks like its for drinking water..hmm?

Second.. I have three taps above the hose attatchement outside. One is Red, one Blue, and one is Whitish.. I tired to see what happened when I turned them and got no results.. The whitish one continues to turn without stopping... Anyone shed any light??

Third... My water system seems to fill itself up.. When connected overnight the black water was full in the morning without us using the toilet.. This seems to happen periodically without any warning.. Could it possibly be the regulator because it sort of leaks a little? The blackwater tank seems to be bigger than the greywater (which seems to fill up very fast) is this normal?? Maybe 3 small baths and its full.