Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > General Motorhome Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-29-2018, 09:09 AM   #1
Take me back to the 70's

1970 21' Globetrotter
1971 29' Ambassador
1977 20' Argosy 20
Boston , MA
Help! On the road-Isolator issue?!?

77 Argosy MH batteries not holding a charge. 3rd replacement of Alternator just last night at a campground in FL.

I’m just learning about the electrical system, my husband is an engineer and can fix anything, we replaced the alternator that we had put in when when picked up “Rosie” aka Ruby from Louisiana in April, at the beginning of our trip from Boston to Florida on Sunday. Still losing power to batteries after long drives. New alternator bad, bought another on the road and just plugged in at night. Had original tested at NAPA, they exchanged and hub installed last night. Being the fixer I am, I started googling. Could we really keep getting bad alternators? Is it the batteries? They’re new too, but being depleted and all.. who knows. Then I read about how important the isolator is. Woke up hub, had him show me where it was, I then tried to figure it out.
Can’t find anything on this model, assuming it’s 40 something years old.

Not so easy to diagram. Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4098.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	246.4 KB
ID:	330563Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6722.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	241.9 KB
ID:	330564Have to check out soon!! Any help?! Please!
75 20' Argosy Motorhome...ISO. radiator
jamimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 09:30 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1977 20' Argosy 20
Arlington , Texas
1977 Argosy Isolator Issues

"Rosie Travelers"