Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-16-2014, 06:23 PM   #1
Full-timer

1971 27' Overlander
Pumpkintown , South Carolina
What fails in a Parallax 4400?

Hi y'all -- long time. In 2007 I replaced the perfectly good but noisy original Univolt in my '71 Overlander 27' with a Parallax 4400. It crapped out after a couple of months, and the company sent a replacement. That worked, but soon after the install I had to leave for a few years. The trailer was unplugged, and had no battery. On return, everything worked fine for about a month, and then the converter went out again -- 110 in, nothing out, fuses good. All up, I got 3 or 4 months use out of two brand new converters! Since I won't be getting a warranty replacement this time, and since I can't afford another converter right now, I'd like to see whether I can take this one apart and find the defective bit. I'm no electrician, but I know where to find one who will work for beer (famous last words). Thanks.

It's not the heat, it's the stupidity.
Foureagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 07:00 PM   #2
'06 75th Winick Prototype

2006 19' International CCD
1968 22' Safari
The Swamps of Hell , Lousy-Anna
I can't believe you actually bought a Parallax on purpose with all the information on the internet and this forum alone regarding how big pieces of **** they are. But, you live and learn I guess.

I don't know what fails on them either, but every one I have ever had has failed except the last replacement Airstream provided for my trailer mainly because I didn't give it a chance to; I yanked that POS out almost immediately and installed an Intellipower. I never used the Parallax...it was the third replacement on a basically new trailer.