Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Axles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-19-2008, 04:23 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1984 31' Limited
Dade City , Georgia
I am cleaning and re-packing the bearings and replacing the grease seals as well on my 1984 Airstream Excella (6 axle). Does any one have any advice I may need to know (this is my first time doing this) and what bearings (inner and outer) and grease seals should I use? Thanks!
Bill C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 04:31 PM   #2
Moderator dude

1966 26' Overlander
Phoenix , Arizona
You will only need one wheel bearing seal per hub.

I would suggest finding some one to show you how to do this. It is much easier than a written explaination.

A big factor is getting the old bearings totally clean or old grease and other debris.

The next biggest factor is reassembly and the proper torqueing of the spindle nut.

Those two factors create the most amount of wheel bearing failures after repacking.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Action
Old 02-19-2008, 04:36 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1977 27' Overlander
1954 25' Cruiser
1990 34.5' Airstream 345
VC Highlands , Nevada
Send a message via Skype™ to Buttercup
I documented my repacking at Overlander '77 | Repack Bearings | Bearing Repacking.
I do not remember which bearings and seals I used but it is documented in the manual for your trailer and somebody here has that information.

I will say that a bearing packer, be it by grease gun or the ever popular "Handy Packer" will help ensure you get the old grease out and the new in. I highly recommend getting one if you don't have one yet.
Buttercup's Web Site. WBCCI #17330, 11281 & 7830. VAC Past President, TAC NV-2 & NV-3
Buttercup is offline   Reply With Quote