Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Refrigerators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-20-2014, 12:56 PM   #1

1977 31' Sovereign
Bakersfield , California
New Fridge / Freezer for Airstream 1977 Sovereign 31'

We are just undergoing a large remodel on our airstream and completely replacing everything. The goal is to go as "green" or energy efficient as possible but also be practical in that we need enough space for long trips on the road. I saw there are a lot of different discussions on fridge/freezers but what is the best, most reliable, energy efficient fridge out there. Thank you for any feedback or expertise you can share. I am new to the RV world so I am not sure what I should consider or not consider.
greenrvgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 03:30 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1963 26' Overlander
Dallas , Texas
Not sure that "going green" and towing 6000 lbs of trailer so that you get 12 mpg down the road co-exist. Don't think I would get to hung up about that but if you really want to be green use an ice chest.

Now that we have that out of the way, it comes down to do you want the luxury of having a fridge in the event you are not in a place with electricity. If that's the case you will need one that runs off propane as well as electric and they are expensive and more expensive as the size goes up.

personally, I don't have a propane model but instead am living with an all electric dorm fridge that works fine for my needs. I wish it were larger at times but 95% of the time it works out fine.