Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Ribs, Skins & Rivets
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-18-2015, 08:42 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
Lebanon , Pennsylvania
Removing interior skin

Hello everyone. I'm new to the Airstream community and have recently acquired a 1975 Airstream Sovereign 31 foot trailer. The front end has damage to 3 panels from falling tree branch. I currently in the process of gutting the trailer and removing the damaged interior front panels and exterior panels. My plan is to replace the 3 exterior panels with new, then go inside and remove all the interior panels. What are your thoughts on removing all the interior panels while leaving the exterior panels intact?

I'm looking at replacing all the insulation and wiring.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150616_154625.jpg
Views:	218
Size:	223.6 KB
ID:	241061   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150614_142107.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	277.4 KB
ID:	241062  

mgjurina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 08:59 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari
Wayland , New York
"What are your thoughts on removing all the interior panels while leaving the exterior panels intact?"

That's no different than people normally taking the interior panels out for renovation. The interior panels are meant to be able to be removed while keeping the exterior shell intact.
Considering the damage, you may want to pull the interior end cap and drop a few feet of the overhead panels so you can get to the inside of the new exterior end skins so you can buck rivet the new panels in.
HiJoeSilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 09:07 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari