Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-28-2008, 11:55 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1979 25' Tradewind
Rockford , Illinois
shalay

Hello, this is my first time on this forum and I'm not vary good on a computer. I have a lot of questions but they will come later.
I have owned many Airstreams since 1975 and driven many miles, working on the road and living in an Airstream most of the years.
My first, was a 1964 17ft which I bought in 1975, sold it in 1978 and it came back to me three years ago in poor condition. I am working on that one now. I or I should say we (my wife and I) have a 1978 25' that we use for what travling we can get away for. We also have a 1957 25 ft. that I brought back from OK. two years ago, that we will gut and intend to make a mobile conference room out of. Over the years we have had twelve or thirteen Airstreams and only one was not road worthy. It was just too old and was litterally falling apart on the highway. My friends think I'm nuts but they have nerer pulled an Airstream. I pulled square trailers till 1975 and a salesman made me put my things in this little 17' and take it to Texas (that was from Cary IL.), I hadn't gone 100 miles and this was the trailer for me and has been ever since.
Now maybe I can learn something about what I have been living in for many years.
Shalay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 12:05 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
West of Fort Worth , Texas
Welcome!
It sounds like you have a lot of Airstream experience, we'll probably all try to squeeze some of your knowledge out of you. Nice to have you here on the forum.
Dave
AIR #15800

"Wimpy" 1/2 ton 2002 GMC Sierra 4X4 Z-71 Gasser
2000 Safari SS 25'