Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-24-2006, 11:54 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1958 26' Overlander
1958 22' Flying Cloud
coronado , California
Nervous as all get out!

Hello All!
I am a newbie both to the forums and to trailers of any sort. I have always been a die hard tent camper but have recently caught the Airstream flu (worse than the bug)! Well I went and did it. I bought myself an Airstream Caravel and I am frankly shaking in my boots! I have never towed anything in my life so I have been doing lot of reading about it. I have seen quite a bit on trailer sway. It got me thinking and I know when I see a trailer being towed down the road and it is swaying back and forth I get as far away as I possibly can from what I see as impending doom! So, here I sit pondering how I will handle a situation like that if the swaying trailer is attached to me!
I suppose my question is: Is sway a common problem? How can I avoid it before I get on the road and I encounter it, how do I fix it? I will be towing the trailer behind my 2001 Ford Expedition and any help, advice or even some soothing words would be greatly appreciated!
Freeofecho
freeofecho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2006, 12:21 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Welcome

Hi, and welcome to airstream forums.

Use the Search button - try anti-sway hitches. There have been several threads about the merits of reese dual cam, equalizer, and Hensley hitches all are good alternatives.

Read the forums, enjoy and learn. There are so many smart experienced people here and all of them will be glad to help you.

Tin Lizzie
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote