Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-13-2011, 05:21 PM   #1

1985 29' Sovereign
austin , Texas
pilot issues (newbie)

Hey everybody. I'm having some issues keeping my pilot light lit. It refuses to stay on after I turn the dial to "on". It will stay on after the water heater flame is on, but goes off when the flame goes off. I replaced the thermocouple and still have the problem.
I am new to the rv life and need help fixing this as I am living in the airstream with my wife and 2 dogs full time. Any ideas or helpfull resources?
diggersanddo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 05:36 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2009 27' FB Flying Cloud
1982 31' International
1991 35' Airstream 350
Jay , Oklahoma
Is the probe end of the thermocouple in the flame and clean?

Is the pilot flame as large as it should be? I would look at the orifice of the pilot burner and clean it with a small wire. It may be that it is not burning enough to heat the thermocouple enough to keep the gas valve open.

Good Luck,

jdalrymple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 07:22 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
pilot issues (newbie)

Greetings diggersanddo!

Welcome to the Forums and the world of Airstream ownership!