Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-10-2007, 09:31 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Los Angeles , California
Any advice appreciated re: which Airstream to buy

Hello all,

I'm new to this, so please excuse me if I am posting this in the wrong place or anything.

I have long wanted an Airstream, largely based on childhood memories of playing cards in the trailer my Grandparents kept beside their barn.

I'm trying to decide whether to buy new or used, modern or vintage, etc. I have different requirements than most, I think, some of which might be blasphemy, but I'm going to ask anyway.

To start, the trailer might never move from a spot behind my house. I want it as an office, not for traveling. I'm a writer and want to move my office out of my house, even if it is only fifty feet away.

Some things I know I want:

Small... part of the reason I want to move my office into an Airstream is to bring the walls in a bit. I prefer working in a more closed environment. So probably 16' or 19', maybe as high as 22', nothing bigger.

The Aluminum interior walls. A must for me. I'm a little confused about this, I can't tell which models have this and which don't.

The built in 4-seat table. Another must. One of the small desks like in the 22' internationaly would be a nice bonus, but the table is most important.

Preferably something I get get from a dealer. There are signifigant tax advantages if I can do this as a lease, with the intent to purchase at the end of the lease.

Also important: