Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2015, 08:48 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1962 22' Safari
Brooklyn , New York
Towable with rusty wheels?

Hello, airforums! I am a newcomer and this is my first post.

I have a 1962 Safari in Westchester, NY that I started gutting in 2001. Since then it has been sitting under a tree on jacks, with a ground tarp under it (in an attempt to control moisture). Needless to say it needs help! (Pictures below)

I want to bring it to Brooklyn (about 50 miles), where I have a large indoor space, so that I can start the full renovation. My question is, how can I determine if it's safe to tow? And if it isn't safe to tow, what next?

I am completely new to the airstream restoration hobby and would love any feedback the community might have.

Thanks for your help!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7080.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	513.0 KB
ID:	245250   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7094.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	320.1 KB
ID:	245251  

Name:	IMG_7096.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	324.2 KB
ID:	245252  
skyclad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 09:46 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2000 25' Safari
Davidson County , NC Highlands County, FL
If you look the angle of the arm that pivots between axel and wheel is it up or down? To me, in the photo it looks like it slopes upward from the axle to the wheel, where it should slope downward. I think you need a new axle.

IMHO, It would probably be ok to tow a very short distance while going very slow.

add edit. I would tow it 50 miles, after greasing the bearings, having some sort of turn/brake lights working, and changing the tires, if the A-frame an hitch in good condition?
Old 08-11-2015, 10:05 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1966 26' Overlander
Woodstock , Georgia