Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-02-2009, 08:43 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1970 29' Ambassador
Reedsburg , Wisconsin
PLEASE help me with towing needs -PLZ

I just purchased a 1970 Ambassador LY 29ft. I have to pick it up in 2 weeks.
What do I need to have on my car to pull it. Ball size? Special attachments-brakes...type of plug....do I need a weight distribution...any and all information greatly appreciated as I am a newbie to this!

Please Help me be successful!!!!

tempest2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 08:52 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1968 24' Tradewind
Oxford, , Mississippi
Tow help

What is your tow vehicle?
68 TWind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 08:55 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1970 29' Ambassador
Reedsburg , Wisconsin
I have a 1999 GMC Suburban 1500 with a tow package on it that will pull this.
Old 06-02-2009, 09:04 PM   #4

Vintage Kin Owner
... , ...
The ball size should be 2-5/16" if I recall correctly. You'll need a brake controller if you don't already have one. As for the hitch setup, there has been a recent flurry of dialog on the WD hitch scenario. There's no way that I would tow without one, and some type of sway control. I encourage you to read the posts of this subject, and keep the questions coming.

The plug is anyone's guess as it could have been changed by the PO. 7-Blade is the current trend. My 73, and 76 were converted from the old 6-pin configuration. Can you get this information from the current owner before you go?

Oh...And A Very Big Welcome To You Too....

Keep us posted as to your progress.