Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-22-2013, 09:03 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2016 25' International
Morgan Hill , California
Tow Vehicle questions....

Hi folks. Newbie here. And actually a pre-newbie I guess since I don’t own an Airstream….yet. Yes it’s still a dream at the moment waiting on my retirement. We won’t go into the reasons why I’m waiting but suffice it to say I like to plan…way ahead.
That being said I’m trying to learn and one of the major purchases is of course the TOW vehicle. I know we all have manufacturer preferences so I’m more concerned about the towing requirements. The calculations required I found on a website… http://changingears.com/rv-sec-calc-trailer-weight-tt.shtml …now how to make me understand.
Example…I looked up the 2014 Chevy Tahoe stats and fed them into the website calculator.
Chevy: V8 5.3L / 320hp / 335lbs
Curb Wt: 5467
Max Payload: 1633
GVWR: 7100
Max Trailer: 8500____Airstream Flying Cloud 25____GVWR: 7300
GCWR: 14000
Now a simple mind would look at Max Trailer towing weight (8500) versus the Trailer weight (7300) and figure all is good.
If I use the towing calculator using GVWR for both it says I CANNOT tow this trailer.
Am I using MAX when I should be using a lesser number for both since it is highly unlikely that I will max out both vehicles?
So add Curb weight + Driver + Passenger + cargo + base Trailer (5600) + water (all colors) + cargo, and then all this not to exceed the GCWR of 14000?
Is that correct?
And to open another can of worms…is this gas engine too small? Do I need larger? Or is diesel the way to go?