Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-15-2005, 09:53 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Send a message via AIM to true1977 Send a message via Yahoo to true1977
Unhappy My 65' caddie and 68 Silver Streak tow help?

Hey all,
Warning, I am a TT newbie SERIOUSLY.
I recently purchased a 24 ft silver streak tandem axle and want to tow it with my 65 Sedan DeVille (Edna) and I need to know what I need to do to make this work.
The SS weighs 3650# and uses a 2 inch ball. the fellow I purchased it from is installing "a standard 6 prong plug about 7/8 inch in diameter."I assume that I will just have to match that on my TV? Also I realize I will need a WDhitch correct?Hensley? And of course there is getting the actual tow equipment attached to my TV which from what I've read can mean having a welder fabricate it?What about the brake controller? the TT has Electric Brakes.Can most of these issues be dealt with by a Rv service center?

Yes all the??? marks because I am unsure/inexperienced and going by what I've read. if you can give me a good bit of advice/guidance in this I would be very grateful.
Thanks. True
true1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 01:31 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
My 65' caddie and 68 Silver Streak tow help?

Greetings true!

Quote:
Originally Posted by true1977
Hey all,
Warning, I am a TT newbie SERIOUSLY.
I recently purchased a 24 ft silver streak tandem axle and want to tow it with my 65 Sedan DeVille (Edna) and I need to know what I need to do to make this work.