Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-09-2008, 11:29 PM   #1

1970 18' Caravel
Forestville , California
Here we go!

I just purchased a 1970 airstream caravel that's in pretty good shape. I have very little experience with the restoration of anything but I am so excited about this. There are things I can do initially like, purchase propane tanks, replace rock guard, replace the steps and some vents, and the biggie; replace the rear window. I've been staring at that rear window for about a week and I have no idea how to get that thing out without removing rivets! It needs tempered, tinted glass and I have no idea what i'm doing. If I called a moble glass guy, would they be able to do this? Is this something I can do myself? It has been rumored that this is the place for help. Help!!!
Old 10-10-2008, 06:55 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Vintage Kin Owner
Vintage Kin Owner
Vintage Kin Owner
Currently Looking...
Greeeneville , Tennessee
Send a message via Yahoo to Silverhobby
Hi Adrian and welcome to the FORUMS. I am the owner of a 1971 Caravel. The rear glass is replaceable, but not as easy as installing a new pane of glass in a common trailer frame. I am sure someone who has more experience than I will chime in soon and give you the directions.
visit my restoration blog at:
Silverhobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 07:04 AM   #3
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldie View Post