Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2016, 09:38 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
1988 25' Excella
louisburg , Missouri
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Electrical Question

I have a 25 foot 1973 Land Yacht, Trade wind. It came with a hand crank hitch elevator (?). I installed an electric one. There is a red power wire to the hitch area. It is used for the break away switch. I tapped into that red power wire to power the Hitch elevator. It worked. I moved the trailer to another part of the yard, and when I went to use the hitch elevator, no power! I opened the electrical wire compartment in the front of the trailer that has the wires for the trailer 7 point plug. I think I found the wire, by adding a wire from the tongue to the interior of the trailer and doing a continuity check. The wire is attached to some kind of solid state relay? That also has a heavy blue wire attached on the same side of the relay? and on the other side of the relay? is a red power wire that is connected to a yellow wire that goes to the 7 point plug. Can any one help me please?
__________________

__________________
dtutko1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 09:54 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Sounds to me like a circuit breaker and you tripped it by overloading the circuit.
Perhaps someone here can help with the color code and wire ID.
__________________

__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 10:21 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
1988 25' Excella
louisburg , Missouri
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Electrical question

I found that the solid state relay I mentioned is a re settable 12v fuse. How do you reset it or can they go bad?
__________________
dtutko1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 03:48 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Again it's a circuit breaker rated for a max load. It may be resetable but more than likely it is an auto reset device. If you don't see a reset button it is not a manual reset device. When the current draw is below the rating it will reset itself.
These devices have been known to fail.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical probs w electrical to new fridge cooling unit. Surfairstrea Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 2 05-23-2012 08:24 PM
Sovereign electrical update / question krowsea Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 09-06-2004 09:27 PM
Electrical Question Alex Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 01-10-2004 11:12 PM
Newbie with an electrical question Whistling_Gypsy Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 12-28-2003 07:24 PM
Electrical System Question ViewRVs Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... 2 03-16-2002 08:39 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.