Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-19-2011, 07:30 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1971 27' Overlander
Springfield , Missouri
Converter wiring '71 Overlander-HELP!

I just installed an Intellipower 9245 converter in my 1971 Overlander. From the help of the forums (especially TWTwinkle's posts), I think I got it pretty close.
Would someone who is knowledgeable tell me if this is done correctly? Sorry for the poor quality of my drawing and the size of drawing downloaded. I've got no electrical experience whatsoever and I couldn't figure out how to get it bigger!

Thanks!
Attached Images

Ag'71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 07:55 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1978 31' Sovereign
Oakley , California
TG Twinkie sent me this from a previous post . Compare the two
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1269802505.png
Views:	220
Size:	7.6 KB
ID:	138105  
Phrunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 10:00 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1971 25' Tradewind
Bowdoinham , Maine
The only thing I see is that I heard Randy (from BestConverter) say that you should run the hot directly from the battery to the converter. He didn't say anything about the need for a fuse. Maybe an expert out there will jump in to help. Good luck and happy trails!
McDonalds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 11:14 PM   #4
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

New Borockton , Alabama
I can't read the photo too well either but there should be a fuse between the battery and the DC distribution panel.
68 Overlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 11:22 PM   #5
Rivet Master

1978 31' Sovereign
Oakley , California
My Argosy had a separate fuse between the battery and the univolt too.
Phrunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 08:23 AM   #6
2 Rivet Member

1971 27' Overlander
Springfield , Missouri
Converter Wiring--AGAIN