Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar > Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-05-2009, 02:15 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Cabin John , Maryland
Battery type in my 2007 Interstate... new and confused!

Ok, I'm new to all of the battery types and handling... We have a 2007 interstate in which the house battery is not holding a charge well. We don't typically connect to a shoreline, but let the engine or generator top off the battery.

Anyhow... I want to be sure the battery is not a flooded type that might need more water. Anybody familiar with the type used in the 07 Interstate? It just says "Varta 12V 100Ah" so I'm not sure how to tell.

I'm pretty sure I'm just not getting it charged enough, but want to make sure I'm not missing something dumb!

Thanks in advance,
pat
patrickdylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 03:02 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 27' Overlander
1973 27' Overlander
1963 19' Globetrotter
Naples , Florida
If it has removable caps on top it is the flooded type,just pop the caps & refill with distilled water,or a good filtered water.I doubt Airstream would spend the money to put the good batteries in there trailers. Dave
easyride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 10:10 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

Cabin John , Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by easyride View Post
If it has removable caps on top it is the flooded type,just pop the caps & refill with distilled water,or a good filtered water.I doubt Airstream would spend the money to put the good batteries in there trailers. Dave
Thanks. It has what might be caps, but might not. I guess I need to look harder for some photos to compare it with.