Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-21-2010, 12:50 PM   #1

1968 24' Tradewind
NYC , New York
Question Generator Questions

Hey,
I am very new to the Airstream community and have been put in charge of putting together an Airstream Shop in NYC. We are going to need a generator to run the electronics in the AS but I have a very poor knowledge of both generators and Airstreams. In the trailer we ill probably be needing to run maybe 3 laptops, a television, projector, AC, 1000 watts worth of lights and other miscelanious electronics like cell phone and ipod chargers.
The Airstream we have is a 1968 Tradewind. The generator would need to be quiet and as reliable and simple as possible. Which models would be the best for our needs and how expensive would it be?
Thanks for any help!
Mimi
Mimimedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 01:11 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1967 22' Safari
1960 Caravel
Edmonds , Washington
Welcome to the forums Mimimedia, The first thing you should do is to find out as close as you can the amount of power you will need. This site may help you. How to pick the right Generator, Diesel Generator, Propane Generator, Gas Generator, Home Generator, and Portable Generators.

1973 F-250 4X4 390
1965 Chevy Suburban 454
AIR 6030
WBCCI 4258
TCT

silverleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 01:21 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1958 26' Overlander
Mesa , Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mimimedia View Post
Hey,
I am very new to the Airstream community and have been put in charge of putting together an Airstream Shop in NYC. We are going to need a generator to run the electronics in the AS but I have a very poor knowledge of both generators and Airstreams. In the trailer we ill probably be needing to run maybe 3 laptops, a television, projector, AC, 1000 watts worth of lights and other miscelanious electronics like cell phone and ipod chargers.